Restore One

Combating human trafficking and human exploitation by means of public awareness, practical prevention, restorative care and building domestic and international partnerships.

Q&A with intern Sha Smith

Leave a comment

Photo on 12-25-12 at 5.14 PM

How did you get involved with RO?

I have always enjoyed using my free time to give back to the community. When I moved to Greenville, as a missionary for a ministry called Dirty Vagabond Ministries, I knew that I wanted to find a way to help other organizations in town that were trying to make a difference. Restore One was one of the very first ministries I heard of when I got here. I was talking with a good friend of mine, and he explained to me that not only was Restore One a ministry that focused on human trafficking, but that their focus was on helping young boys are victims of DMST. As soon as he said that they helped male victims of sexual exploitation, I knew immediately that I had to do whatever I could to support them. I have a passion for helping people who have been sexual exploited, especially men. I did my senior thesis on Male Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse, because I feel like they are often ignored or diminished when it comes to this kind of victimization.  It’s not often that you meet people who have a passion for that, so I knew that I had to get involved.

What got you involved in the fight against trafficking?

When I was working as an intern at the Sexual Assault Help Center in Steubenville, OH, my boss would speak with me about the larger issues that would come up at conferences she attended. One day, I saw her hanging up a poster she had received at a conference that had information about human trafficking on it. When I asked her about the poster, she told me that, at that time, Ohio was ranked as one of the top 5 states where human trafficking was a major issue,. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I knew human trafficking existed overseas, but I had no idea that such a horrific crime was rampant in the US, let alone in the state that I lived in.  At that moment, the reality of Domestic Human trafficking became real to me, and from then on I joined the fight to help end human trafficking.

 What is your background?

I am from a small coastal town in Mississippi named Gulfport.  My passions include, but are not limited to, painting, knitting and crocheting, psychological research, my faith, watching interesting independent films and documentaries, well-made food, ministry, learning about everything that interests me, theatre, the sky, beautiful flowers, and volunteering. I attended a small Catholic university in Steubenville, OH called Franciscan University of Steubenville.  While I was there I earned a Bachelors of Psychology (with honors) and Master’s of Arts in Counseling. I have been trained in acting and counseling. I would say that some of my skills are of an administrative nature (emailing, making spreadsheets, etc), I’m also good at public speaking, working with large groups, listening, problem solving, being understanding, being supportive, and cracking many hilarious jokes.

What will you be doing with RO this Summer?

I will be at RO as intern this summer, and I will be helping them with the Stand for One gala. I will also be helping them to develop a survey.

Have any goals?

I would say that my main goal is just to help them to accomplish what they need to as a ministry. I’m cool to help with whatever I can help with. I would say that my secondary goal would be to complete the survey!

What are you most excited about?

I am most excited about getting to know the staff at Restore One, and doing whatever ever I can to help combat human trafficking J

Fun  Facts

I have studied abroad in Europe, Austria to be exact.  I have never eaten a Twinkie…I don’t trust them. I can do splits well.  I love to dance. One of my best friends is related to William Wallace. When I was younger, I owned a pair of earrings made from some of the ash of Mt. Saint Helen’s.

 

Leave a Reply

